Biography

I am a modern and contemporary historian, primarily of Britain and the US, but within a more broadly comparative, global, and interdisciplinary framework. Areas of particular focus include:

  • Cities, suburbs, and urban change.

  • Conflict and violence.

  • Culture and media industries.

  • Diaspora, ethnicity, race, and migration.

  • Ideologies, politics, and culture.

  • Justice, injustice, and resolution.

  • Lifecycles, temporality, and memory.

  • Political ecologies.

I have worked in higher education for nearly two decades, most recently as a Senior Lecturer in Modern History and Politics at the University of Chichester. Prior to that, I also held teaching and research roles at King’s College London, Queen Mary University of London, the University of East London, and the University of Kent.

As an active member of the wider academic community, I am, moreover, a convenor the Life-Cycles Seminar at the Institute of Historical Research, a member of the Children’s History Society’s executive committee, and a member of the London Journal’s editorial board. I am also a member of the UCU Commons activist community within University and College Union.

I was born and mostly grew up in London, along with spells living in Cyprus – where my family originally hail from – and Scotland. I currently live in London with my partner and our three children. I speak English and (regrettably rustily) Greek.